Jupiter Chronicles 3: The Orb of Terra released

Author Leonardo Ramirez highlights the importance of family with his new Steampunk Middle Grade release. “Peer pressure can be toxic when it tries to infuse habits that are damaging to self, especially when it comes to children and teenagers. Family can be a compass that guides us to our ultimate destiny and a shield against influences that try to degrade its values and cohesiveness,” the author believes. The Jupiter Chronicles Book 3: The Orb of Terra In the tradition of “City of Ember”, “A Wrinkle in Time”, “Star Wars”, this family adventure is a high stakes space race to save … Continue reading Jupiter Chronicles 3: The Orb of Terra released

An interview with Andy Pan Within – PART ONE

andy dolan and his wife michelle
Andy and his wife Michelle run Whitby Steampunk Weekend

You may know Andy Dolan by various other names; Andy Pan Within, Hubcap Diamondstar or even possibly Jam Man. It’s like he’s trying to avoid detection by Interpol, but it’s nothing like that. The organiser of Whitby Steampunk Weekend has acquired these names throughout his life. His fascination with the God Pan from Greek mythology, coupled with a love of the song Pan Within by The Waterboys gave him his current moniker. But what about Hubcap? “Hubcap is a nickname acquired during childhood from friends because I was into T. Rex and was always singing Get It On (Hubcap Diamondstar Halo is in the lyrics).” Obviously his nickname Jam Man comes from his company Decadent Preserves. Continue reading “An interview with Andy Pan Within – PART ONE”

Weekend at the Asylum 9 report

Weekend at the Asylum IXIf you’re a steampunk of any level of interest, you must have heard the word “Asylum” bandied around recently. Unless you live under a rock. Or under a big pile of socks which happen to provide superb sound proofing. Or if you’ve been on a trip to Pluto to collect vital rock samples and regrettably didn’t return until after the August bank Holiday.

An event attended by thousands of steampunks and non-steampunks alike, this year reached around the 120,000 mark over the course of the extended weekend. Continue reading “Weekend at the Asylum 9 report”

Phoenix Alternative Festival report

Llanfyllin is a small town in North Wales. Easily accessible from the M56, it’s home to the Llanfyllin Workhouse. Originally a workhouse for inmates, it was opened in 1837 and operated until 1930. It was taken over until 1983 when it closed it’s doors after operating as a care home. Following a very short stint as an outdoor pursuits centre, it remained closed until 2008 when local residents attained full ownership and transformed it into a Community Centre. Continue reading “Phoenix Alternative Festival report”